Why care if you don’t?

10th November, 2014. 11:13am

This is a response to the Daily Prompt’s No Time to Waste

Fill in the blank: “Life is too short to _____.” Now, write a post telling us how you’ve come to that conclusion.

I say:

“Life is too short to care… for people who treats you like shit.”

deaf-lp3897

Photo c/o: irishhabibi.edublogs.org/

About two years ago, this statement would have seemed impossible for me to believe, because Once Upon a Time (and eventually, Frozen) always keep saying that you should never give up on the people you love. But since last year, ever since my life was turned upside down, I realized that the only way to stay sane and keep myself from snapping out and going crazy is to leave… not physically per se, but taking things off mentally.

And it did, help me in so many ways. I used to be one of those people who keep lashing out on Facebook, saying things I shouldn’t be telling everyone. But ever since my Dad proved that he really doesn’t give a fuck on what everyone else in the house thinks, I realize, “well, why am I wasting energy on someone who treated me like a stinking trash?” That’s when I’ve had enough. I just couldn’t let myself be sucked in his own vortex of negativity anymore.

I know what some of you might say; taking things off my mind isn’t exactly the best way to deal with it, and why don’t I just talk to him, right? Trust me, I did. I tried writing him a letter, heck I even had an article published! Did it work? It did… for a couple of weeks. But sometimes, people don’t really change the way you want them to. Some of them go back in their nasty habits, which is already like a drug to them; they’ll never survive without it and you can’t do anything about it.

I’m not saying I disown him (although, if there’s really a way to break up with your family, I would have broken up with him already). I just need to do this to keep myself from going mad, because at the end of the day he’s still my father and I still respect him for giving me the chance to experience life. But just because he was the reason I am alive doesn’t mean I have to just suck it all up and let him do whatever he wants, even if means hurting us in the process. Because what hurts more isn’t the physical pain (because he never laid a hand on us), but the things he say and do scarred us for life.

KTHXBYE.

 

 

Jhack

Thoughts?

