Book Review: The Beginning of Everything

10th November, 2014. 10:49am

the-beginning-of-everything

Photo c/o: BookPeopleBlog.wordpress.com

I don’t know how to start my review of Robyn Schneider‘s The Beginning of Everything because while I think that the book wasn’t exactly bad, I didn’t fall madly in love with it, either.

Okay, here’s the thing: I could actually quite relate to Cassidy and Ezra’s story (who am I in this tale, I’ll never tell), and I guess that’s the beauty of this book, that I find pieces of myself in the characters, but somehow, I just feel like there’s something missing. What happened to Cassidy? Did she get out of her prison eventually? I sure hope she does, because wallowing in guilt for the rest of your life over something someone else did isn’t healthy.

I think that another thing that I find a bit disappointing about this book was the fact that Ezra eventually give up. I know, but people don’t necessarily have to stay for you to love them or you to grow and find yourself in the process. True, but wouldn’t it be awesome if Ezra help Cassidy in return to get her out of her own panopticon? After all, she sparked a flame that helped Ezra find himself in the process.

I just think that the author could have made Ezra a better man. Not perfect, just better.

KTHXBYE.

 

 

Jhack

Thoughts?

