The Girl Scout Promise

05th November, 2014. 3:10pm

Today, on the Daily Prompt, the question goes:

You’re asked to recite a poem (or song lyrics) from memory — what’s the first one that comes to mind? Does it have a special meaning, or is there another reason it has stayed, intact, in your mind?

Plast_-_Scout_Salute

Photo c/o: wikipedia.org

It’s weird that the first thing that comes to mind was neither a poem nor a song. It was actually The Girl Scout Promise and Law. I don’t exactly know why because, well, I was never a girl scout to begin with.

Here ya go, exactly how I remember it:

THE GIRL SCOUT PROMISE
On my honor, I will do my duty
To God and my country,
To help other people at all times
And to live by the Girl Scout Law

The Girl Scout Law
A Girl Scout’s honor is to be trusted.
A Girl Scout is loyal.
A Girl Scout is helpful.
A Girl Scout is a friend to all and to every other Girl Scout.
A Girl Scout is courteous.
A Girl Scout respects living things.
A Girl Scout is disciplined.
A Girl Scout is self-reliant.
A Girl Scout is thrifty.
A Girl Scout is clean in thought, word and deed.

What imbued it in my mind, I guess, was hearing it so many times with Lea Salonga. If you still don’t know, I am a huge Lea Salonga fan, and you can imagine my playlist filled with Disney songs, jazz, OPM and musical songbook, among other genres, of course. I know I will never be a girl scout, but at least I know their oath, right? 🙂

KTHXBYE.

 

Jhack

7 thoughts on “The Girl Scout Promise

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Hot Little Biscuit” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. I used to do the Australian version, Girl Guides, and I knew the promise off by heart, then they changed it a while ago, and now I don’t know it at all!! The old one was similar to the girl scout promise:
    I promise to do my best, to do my duty to God.
    To serve the queen and my country,
    to help other people, and to keep the Guide law.

    I had to look it up, but the new one completely drops any mention of the Queen or God..

    I promise that I will do my best:
    To be true to myself and develop my beliefs
    To serve my community and Australia
    And live by the Guide Law.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

