If I were Andy Sachs…

03rd November, 2014. 5:01pm

NaBloPoMo, November 3 Prompt:

Write about an amazing imaginary brand or organization you’d love to work with. What would their pitch to you look like? What would your post say?

The Devil Wears Prada

Photo c/o: coztume.com

When I was in high school, the only thing I want to do was to have one of the poems that I wrote published on MEG magazine – a local teen glossy I love growing up. As I entered college and was introduced to the World Wide Web, reaching my dream had been so easy. I was, in fact, given the chance not just to write for the magazine, but to work for them as an intern, as well. However, being part of the team didn’t last long. It was one of the biggest mistakes I have ever done.

After my stint with MEG, and after seeing The Devil Wears Prada about a million times (okay, I was exaggerating. It was just about ten times), I knew I should at least try passing my résumé and try my luck on the magazine, but I didn’t. I never even tried. I eventually became a writer, of course, but it was never how I imagined I would have become.

But what if the tables are to be turned and they suddenly asked for my help? What if the current Editor-in-Chief came up to me one day and invited me to be part of their team? Will I say yes? Will I accept the invitation?

I’m pretty sure they’d put me as either the Editorial Assistant or Fashion Assistant. They’d probably even pull out that “you-can-write” card that the former MEG EIC once told me. However, the answer to that, surprisingly, is NO. I wouldn’t want to join their team. Not anymore.

The Devil Wears Prada Emily

Photo c/o: giphy.com

A few years after graduating from college, the then-EIC, Peewee (who is now the Editor-in-Chief of the magazine’s parent magazine, MEGA think of it like MEG is to Teen Vogue as MEGA is to Vogue) asked me whether I want to work for MEG or not. I said yes, and if she’s still working for MEG and asked me to come join her team, I would have said yes, even if it means I’d have to work with their monster of a boss who’s like Miranda Priestly’s doppelgänger; I would definitely work for Peewee. (Oh yes, I had my share of everything that Andy Sachs went through in The Devil Wears Prada. I actually feel like Emily right now. I’m feeling crappy but I have to work. *I love my job* *I love my job* *I love my job*) But now, with the new MEG team, I’m not sure I still want to chase that dream.

But what if the old MEG team asked me to come be part of the old-slash-new MEG team? Well, now THAT’s a different question.

PS: After re-reading my post, as well as the prompt, I realized I went outside the box and came up with something real instead of “an imaginary brand or organization.” Why? Because I don’t have to imagine. I went through what Andy Sachs went through. But what if I really was in Andy Sachs’ position, would I say yes and work for Runway magazine with Miranda Priestly? Of course. Who wouldn’t?

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

3 thoughts on “If I were Andy Sachs…

  1. Well done to you for using today’s prompt. I agonised over it for hours before giving up and writing about something else instead, even though I promised myself I’d use the prompts provided. I couldn’t come up with anything, except a holiday app that zapped you to your destination, Star Trek-style, rather than have to go through the rigmarole of travelling to get there – which, of course, should be part of the fun, but rarely is, I find. Anyway, great post. Really enjoyed reading it.

    Like

    • Thanks! 🙂 I thought people would love today’s prompt because it’s kind of out of the box. You should have written about that holiday app thing. It sounds interesting enough. I saw your website via BlogHer, too!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Wait, what? It’s OVER?! | When My Brain Farts

Thoughts?

