Book Review: Dorothy Must Die

31st October, 2014. 11:24am

The Real Fauxtographer: Dorothy Must Die

Photo c/o Margot Wood from TheRealFauxtographer.com
If you love books and photography then you should really check her out. Love her own take on YA novels through photos.

What would you do if you found out that the story you knew from your childhood that you loved so much didn’t exactly end up like they said it did? What if the protagonists actually turned into the villainous monsters they tried so hard to fight over? Does the phrase “happily ever after” ever truly was the end of a story?

Dorothy Must Die proved it wasn’t. It ruined everything I know about the Wizard of Oz, but, at the same time, I also loved the fact that it told me what happened after Dorothy threw a bucket of water on the Wicked Witch of the West and sent the Wizard back to our world.

It’s funny how I read the book the same week as Wicked (the musical) first opened on Broadway. I didn’t plan it, but I hope I did.

Dorothy Must Die quotes

In essence, Dorothy Must Die reminded me a lot of Wicked. I stand firm by what I said about Danielle Paige taking inspiration from Kristin Chenoweth and Idina Menzel’s portrayal of Galinda and Elphaba. Dorothy, just like Galinda, was the little pink bitch who thought everyone loves her, that she’s the center of the universe. But unlike Galinda who later changed her name to Glinda in solidarity of the old goat that is Professor Dillamond and stood by her best friend in the end, Dorothy was a mean girl who treated everyone like a rag doll. Amy Gumm, on the other hand, was the little misfit a la Elphaba. They were both smart, strong and, despite being hard-headed, does the right thing for the right reason (even if it costs a life or two… Accidentally, of course). But what I loved about it is its fast-paced story. It was action-packed, and every page was exciting. I also love how Paige’s penmanship can transport me in Oz; her use of words made me feel like I’m also an Ozian. It was as if I was with Amy as she went through her adventures in Oz.

Reading this book, I can’t help but come up with a few theories and questions of my own:

  1. What does taking the Tin Woodman’s heart, the not-so-cowardly Lion’s courage and the Scarecrow’s brain have to do with taking down Her Royal Awfulness? (Oh, and trust me, I’m trying so damn hard not to think that Zelena, the Wicked Witch from Once Upon a Time, is planning to open a portal to turn back time.) The only reason I could think of really was cutting her resources would leave her with one weapon (except for her shoes, of course) – Glinda.
  2. But is Glinda really on Dorothy’s side? Or is she just biding her time to do what that little pink bitch wants until every last of Dorothy’s army were taken down?
  3. I think that when Amy defeated Dorothy, Ozma will continue reigning as the Princess of Oz.
  4. The Revolutionary Order of the Wicked will haunt Amy down. Probably slit her throat for not finishing the job when she had the chance and for abandoning them in the middle of war, but Amy would settle it with the Order in time.
  5. Ripping off Tin Woodsman’s heart would backfire. Now that he’s heartless, don’t you think it’d be easier for him to hurt anyone?

Another thing that reminded me of Dorothy Must Die was Once Upon a Time. Of course I’d mention Once Upon a Time. How couldn’t I? You all know I’m a sucker for twisted fairy tales, so I’m really buying Amy Gumm’s story. The book also proved that, once again, it is the person’s choices that made her good or wicked, not her abilities. And I just hope that when Amy finally had a clear shot at Dorothy, this time she won’t chicken out. I hope she’d send her ass back to Kansas.

PS: It was reported recently (okay, fine. It was last year) that CW is set to bring Dorothy Must Die into the small screen. Honestly, I wish they wouldn’t. Dorothy Must Die should be turned into a movie, not a TV show à la Pretty Little Liars (which is a big hit) or The Lying Game (which was a flop); The Vampire Diaries (which is still on going but getting really boring and annoying); The Carrie Diaries (which ruined everything about Sex and the City—it was a flop) or even The Secret Circle (which was a flop) — see my point? Danielle Paige’s Dorothy Must Die was filled with action and adventures. IT DESERVES MORE BUDGET THAN (what they are given).

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Dorothy Must Die

Thoughts?

