Miss Tony Winner

29th October, 2014. 11:03am

This is a response to MumTaughtMeFashion‘s So I’m Basically Famous.

Tony_Award_Medallion

Photo c/o: Wikipedia

If you’re someone I know then you might already have an idea as to who I’m talking about but in case you don’t, then I’m gonna have to apologize because I prefer not to name names. But for the sake of this blog post, let’s just call her Miss Tony Winner.

I’ve been a fan of Annie since I was a young girl. I grew up watching her. Every day, me and my sister and cousins would play her tape and watch her ’til we memorized every single detail of her film. I never really realized her influence on me until my Mom passed away.

About two years after Mommy died, I was given the chance to see her in person when my godfather decided to take me to one of her concerts. Although it was memorable, I never got to meet her in person. It was then that I decided to research more about her; I joined a fan group where she was participating actively shortly after the concert.

I met Miss Tony Winner when I went to see another concert of hers. I don’t think words are enough to describe what I felt when she stood right in front of me, because not only did she remember me, she even remembered how to spell my name correctly. I was on high for days after our first meet up, and you’d think that it will stop right there but it didn’t. It was just the beginning of a wonderful adventure with Miss Tony Winner.

I’ve met her a couple of times after that; going to concerts, shows and interviews, but it was early last year when my being just a fan went into a whole new level.

A friend who is working for a magazine and a member of our group had a photo shoot with her so she asked if the group can have dinner with them afterwards. Fortunately, she said yes.

Any fangirl or boy would know how it feels to spend just one dinner with the person they idolize. I had it, but it wasn’t the only time. In fact, it was just the beginning.

Our dinner lasted for almost 4 hours. I had to skip work for two hours but it was okay. It was worth it. It was the best night of my life. I thought it was also the last, but boy I was wrong!

Later that year, the group was asked to help with Miss Tony Winner’s book for her upcoming concert. Since I know a few tricks about finding things online, I volunteered. I didn’t play a major role in the Editorial team like my other friends, but I’m glad I was able to help create that baby.

After the concert, Miss Tony Winner treated the Editorial Team to a dinner and a few drinks. No, not coffee, drinks. As in alcohol. As an added bonus, Mister Handsome (her favorite leading man) joined us as well. It was a night filled with laughter, gossip, drinks, laughter and more gossip. And did I mention there were a lot of gossip and laughter, too?

No, I’m not gonna tell you what we talked about. If I did, I’d be disowned, banned and killed.

Due to my busy schedule, I missed a couple of dinners and drinks after that. Bummer, I know.

One day, me and my friends visited their home. She wasn’t there, but her Mom was. I like her Mom, not because she’s her Mom, but because she reminds me of my own. Mommy was just as protective and supportive as hers. Plus, I’ve always looked up to her Mom because she did such an amazing job raising such talented and kind artists. If you know who I’m talking about, I know you’d agree with me. Their family really is that awesome and legendary.

While we were at their house, her Mom fed us with bread pudding she made herself and one of the most delicious ice creams I have ever tried. We shared stories, showed us Miss Tony Winner’s prestigious awards (yes, I’ve seen her Tony Award), and even invited us to spend the night there. I didn’t, by the way. Not that I don’t want to, but because I was worried because I had my sister’s umbrella and she needs it the next day when she goes to work.

I know. I’m so lame, right? Why didn’t I just call or text her to tell her I’m not coming home? It’s late, I’m old enough to do whatever the heck I want and go wherever I want, so what possessed me to chicken out? Well, for one, I’m shy. Two, my Dad was already texting me, asking me what time am I going home; And three, yes, I am actually worried about my sister’s umbrella.

Lame, lamer, lamerton. Yeah, yeah. I GET IT.

The thing is, despite spending a few dinners and conversations with her, as well as meeting her a couple of times, I still couldn’t count myself as one of her “friends.” I don’t know. I just feel like I haven’t earned it yet.

That being said, I’m actually excited for her next concert because I know this is going to be the one that will change everything. And maybe, just maybe, I can also start associating myself, really associating myself with the one and only Miss Tony Winner.

Clue: 1. Miss Tony Winner has been in the business for a couple of decades now; 2. Her first name means meadow; 3. She has “died on stage” twice; 4. She had two cats whose names sounded almost the same as the kids of a famous Pop Star; 5. Even if you don’t know her, you’d probably recognize her through her voice.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

One thought on “Miss Tony Winner

Thoughts?

