I’m Not Anti-Social, I Just Don’t Wanna “Get Social”

27th October, 2014. 1:26pm

Blogging 201, Day Six: Dig Deep into a Social Network

Today’s Assignment: pick one social network you’ll use to help grow your blog and connect it to your site. Then, outline a a 30-day plan for how you’ll use it.

olympic-social-media-ban2

Photo c/o: PistachioBlush.com

In Blogging 101, I’ve wrestled with deciding whether I should connect this blog on my Social Networking sites or create a profile for it altogether. I’ve won by not connecting my blog to the Social Media so I can’t believe I’m dealing with this here on our sixth day on Blogging 201… AGAIN!

I mean, why do I have to connect my blog to Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr or Pinterest? People are already up my nose every single day, do I really need them watching my blog 24/7? I know what you’re going to say… You don’t have to. Well, there goes my point. I DON’T HAVE TO DO IT SO I WON’T.

Why not? Let me tell you why not:

The thing with Facebook…
is that it’s filled with overly-dramatic teenagers whose business is to create multiple profiles like they’re the next Kardashian or something. Why do people do that? Look, if you’re not a celebrity, you shouldn’t create fan pages of yourself. It’s creepy! Number one, it’s tacky; number two, you look like a fame-whore. Plus, all of my relatives are on Facebook, I sure as hell isn’t going to share my online journal like this blog with them, no.

Speaking of fame-whores…
Twitter. Yup, it’s filled with it, too. Don’t get me wrong, I love Twitter; enjoy it even more than Facebook, actually, but here’s the thing: Twitter is filled with fame-whores and bullies. Don’t try to argue. It’s a fact. So why don’t I just create an entirely new Twitter account for my blog? Well, what for? What will I tweet? NOTHING.

PIN IT!
Same reason as Twitter, I just have nothing to pin! I do have a personal Pinterest account, and I actually already have a board called “Brain Fart” but it’s filled with quotes that inspire me.

Like I said, maybe someday I’ll find the strength to get social and officially introduce When My Brain Farts to my own circle of friends but for now, can’t you just let the girl enjoy her blog all to herself and my fellow weirdos? Is that too much to ask? I hope not.

 

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

11 thoughts on “I’m Not Anti-Social, I Just Don’t Wanna “Get Social”

    • That is so true. There are a lot of Youtube sensation, Facebook sensation, Twitter sensation and all that shit and it’s sickening. I’m glad to be part of the pre-FB/Twitter/Youtube generation. It makes me look old, but I don’t care, 90s kids are the best. 🙂

      Like

Thoughts?

