Survey Says…

23rd October, 2014. 12:16am

Blogging 201, Day Four: Give ‘Em What They Want

Today’s assignment: conduct a short and simple stats analysis that will help you create an editorial calendar for the next 30 days.

Today’s assignment on our day four at Blogging 201 talks about statistics. Stats. Traffic. Why is it so important?

As someone whose daily job includes Page Rank, Link Building, and SEO information (ie; website traffic, backlinks, traffic value, etc.), a website’s statistics is like a life line. If it’s too low, you gotta do something about it. If it’s getting up, great. If it went down the day after, you gotta get your shit together and act… FAST. So, for someone whose resources are limited when it comes to “making her blog known”, how does one make a reader click that little Follow button on top of their page? Sure, knowing what topics to posts count, but based on my experience, what really drives any reader to subscribe is just one (important) thing: QUALITY.

No matter how many posts you publish on your blog or how often you do it, people won’t subscribe unless you offer them something of value; something that will make them think, laugh, angry (yes, it counts), sad. It doesn’t matter how many posts you publish in a day, even if you already know which topics your followers do like to read about. If you provide them with trash, you will get trash back. That’s how it works. It’s like what Heidi Klum always says in Project Runway; “One day you’re in. The next day, you’re out” and if you fill your followers with sucky contents (or redirect them to pointless websites ALL THE FREAKING TIME), you’re going to lose followers and be branded as SPAM. Oh yes, they will.

post stats all time

Click image to view full size

post stats today

My stats today (so far)
Click image to view full size

In the latest statistics of my blog based on my All Time Top Posts, I noticed that the top ten includes (with the exception of my Homepage) the ones I did for Blogging 101. However, in those ten posts, there’s one particular page that wasn’t an assignment for Blogging 101 – Tight-lipped. It was the entry I wrote when a fellow blogger nominated me for Dardos Award. I don’t really know how it got up there, but for some reason, people do read that post a lot (even though it only got 5 likes).

Since I launched this blog a year ago, the stats have gone up especially when I joined Blogging 101. I must admit, it did help a lot. If it weren’t for Blogging 101, I would probably still have about, I don’t know, 20 followers or something. Participating in the Daily Posts also helps, but should I force myself in those writing challenge just to get traffic? Of course not. At least I don’t think so. After all, I didn’t come here to be America’s next top model (oops, sorry, wrong show), I mean to be the next famous blogger. I’m just a girl who enjoys writing about her daily ramblings. Okay, so I haven’t done that lately, but that’s just because I’m soooooo busy with work and Blogging U and everything. I promise I will update y’all one of these days.

recent weeks stats

My blog’s stats in the recent weeks. It seems my traffic was up by 75% and we weren’t even done with the week yet. Wow. Thanks to YOU! Yes, YOU.

The point is, we should care about our site stats. WE SHOULD. BUT, and there’s a big but, you must think twice (maybe thrice) before pushing yourself to come up with a post just to gain a few views. Because if there’s one thing I’ve learn from Search Engine Optimization is that it doesn’t matter how many articles you write, links you build or techniques you use, Google doesn’t want black-hat (internet) marketing.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

3 thoughts on “Survey Says…

  1. Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff
    previous to and you are just too excellent. I really like
    what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise.
    I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a great site.

    Like

Thoughts?

