Emily

22nd October, 2014. 1:51pm

Blogging 201, Day Three: Get Read All Over

Today’s assignment: make sure your site is mobile-friendly, and familiarize yourself with the features of responsive design.

imaginary-friend-2

Photo c/o: ThePositive.com

Since, I’ve already done my part for day three task (ie; I already know my blog is mobile-friendly), there’s nothing more to do but wait for tomorrow’s task. However, today’s Daily Prompt, well, prompted me to tell a tale about a friend who I’m still not sure whether she’s imaginary or not. Her name was Emily.

Many of us had imaginary friends as young children. If your imaginary friend grew up alongside you, what would his/her/its life be like today? (Didn’t have one? write about a non-imaginary friend you haven’t seen since childhood.)

My earliest memory of Emily was when I was in kindergarten. I THINK she was my classmate and my neighbor, at least that’s what people said. I tried to remember where she lived, who were her parents, even what she looked like but for some reason, I couldn’t bring myself to remember my “first best friend.” Although, I know I’m sure about a few things – she has a long, straight hair, she has brown skin, she’s thin and she’s taller than me. That’s all I can remember.

Thinking about my childhood, I wonder how things would have turned out if we stayed friends. I don’t know what happened to either of us; no idea why our friendship fell apart. Maybe because I transferred to a private school and she stayed with our old school. Maybe their family moved to another city. Whatever happened, I’ll never know.

Come to think of it, I never really thought about her until this prompt. Never did I checked if she was on Facebook or Twitter; did not even thought about asking my grandmother, who they said was friends with the girl’s grandmother. Why? Because I don’t even know her last name. I don’t even know her supposed grandmother’s name. Maybe my grandmother was just playing me. Perhaps she senses how peculiar I am and decided to play along with this delusion.

But if Emily happens to be real, I would like to meet her someday. I don’t know if we will stay friends, but I would love to meet her. See if it’ll spark a memory or two, probably the entire memory of our friendship. And if she happens to remember me and knows it’s me, I hope she’ll show up and introduce herself. It’d be great to see an old friend once and for all.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

4 thoughts on “Emily

  1. Pingback: Dear Dream Reader… | When My Brain Farts

Thoughts?

