Heads Up!

21st October, 2014. 10:51am

Blogging 201, Day Two: Audit Your Brand

Today’s assignment: audit your brand — look at all the ways you communicate information about your blog, and make sure they’re consistent, focused, and say what you want them to say.
Bonus points: make a test blog to use as your personal playground for testing changes.

 

This morning, when I’ve read about today’s task, I’ve tried so hard to come up with a new, more “personalized” header. I opened Photoshop and got my hands on a couple of logos and while I cannot, for the life of me, create a brand new logo-slash-header, I managed to tweak my blog’s existing header and added a personal spin on it, as well as the blog title and subtitle.

According to the instructions for day two assignment, it said to first focus on the goal, which I think I’ve covered swiftly. As said yesterday, this blog was never meant for profit, but I think that I’ve stayed true to my mission and vision for my blog (so far). So on to instruction number two: Examine your blog from header to footer.

brainfart old header

This is how my header looks like BEFORE

Well, I’ve already tweaked my sidebar yesterday, so I’m not gonna be making any more changes on that. I also won’t be making any more changes on my theme because I’ve already wrestled with this in Blogging 101 but yes, I changed my header big time. Well, not really changed it, just tweaked it; make the background transparent, customize my blog title and subtitle. I also changed my signature image, which is going to be a real work once I start changing the image on all of my posts. But to be honest, I was surprised by what I came up with. I think it looks better, right?

brainfart new header

And this is how it looks like NOW.

Right?

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

4 thoughts on “Heads Up!

    • Thanks! 🙂 But you’re right. To make these changes, you need quite some time… And a little bit of Photoshopping skills. I’m no master at Photoshop, but I think I did ok with this one. You’ll get there. You’ll see. 🙂

      Like

Thoughts?

