Not Another Fairytale

02nd October, 2014. 11:53am

Blogging 101, Day 14: Try a New Posting Style

Today’s assignment: build your storyteller’s toolbox by publishing a post in another format or a style you’ve never used before.

Since I’m used to posting in long paragraphs (well, what can you say, girl’s got a lot to tell), I am going to do today’s assignment by sharing you certain things that are stuck in my head since I learned how to speak, write, and read by means of images, quotes, and audios/videos. And I promise, no paragraphs longer than four sentences. God, I hope I can keep myself from blabbering too much.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Whoa, wait a minute, I’m having a hard time with this one. Not because I have nothing, it’s because there is so much I wanted to share.
.
.
.
*Shakes head and hands*
.
.
.
Okay, let’s do this again, shall we? Focus, Jhack. They said new style. Nothing new so far.

Alright, fine. Sorry, change of plans (and because this is gonna be a long post). Last night, when I checked what today’s assignment will be, this story came to me while I was in bed reading. It wasn’t finished, but I’m gonna share anyway.

Not Another Fairytale
Runaway Princess

Photo c/o: WeHeartIt.com

   Once upon a time, there was a little princess who lived in a small kingdom where everyone adores each other. With her parents and siblings, the family ruled the kingdom with grace, honesty, and generosity. But like every family, theirs were not as perfect as everyone envied them to be.

   On the little princess’s twelfth birthday, she met a young prince from a nearby kingdom and took her for a walk. They became instantly friends, giving her a taste of what young love is. But her parents did not approve of the little prince, fearing that she was too young to be betrothed to someone whose kingdom wasn’t as rich and powerful as theirs. What her parents didn’t know, and didn’t asked her opinion of, was that the little princess never wanted to be promised to the young man, despite the prince’s constant wooing. Brokenhearted, the little princess ended her friendship with the little prince, leaving her changed – quiet, reserved, and lonely.

   Thinking that the royal family has passed the major crisis their family has ever gone through, their mother fell ill of an unknown disease not long after. As one of the most powerful kingdoms in the land, her father searches for the most powerful sorcerer that can tell them what is making her sick and cure her mother. In no time, the sorcerer arrived in their castle and proceeded to work on the queen. After what seemed like forever, the sorcerer revealed that a malevolent imp cursed her mother; there was nothing they can do but await her death. Three days later, the queen died.

   The queen’s death brought upon extreme sadness to the entire kingdom. Gone are the days where the inhabitants hold festivities every night as gratitude for the day’s work. Smiles turned into frowns. Laughs turned into cries. Soon, the King closed the gate of their castle and never again did the palace saw the sunlight.

   Because she and her sister were too young to be queen, their father searched the realm for a new bride. For years, the little princess’s father journey through every kingdom to find a new queen. Meanwhile, back in the castle, her brother married a fairly young woman from downtown. But in King’s order, the newlyweds left the castle to live a simple life in a small hut near the palace.

   Eight years later, the little princess’s father asked a young lady’s hand in marriage. While the sisters did not approve of their father’s new bride, the little princesses gave a tight lip as a respect to the king. But little did the king know that his new bride have other agendas in mind. There was a talk between the deceased queen’s loyal subjects that it was the new queen who cursed her, and she put the king under her spell to take over the kingdom and banish the sisters and the king himself. The sisters tried…

Sorry, that’s as far as I got last night. But with that in mind, I’m going to end this post with Lea Salonga singing one of my favorite Disney songs of all time — 22 years later.

Magical, isn’t it? I LOVE Aladdin. I grew up watching Disney animated movies because of this. It’s also one of the reasons why I became a big fan of Disney films, musicals and Lea Salonga.

From a Disney princess to a villain-who’s-not-really-a-villain-now-I-don’t-know-don’t-ask-me, I’m sharing my favorite bad ass from Once Upon a Time, Regina the Evil Queen. Just watch:

Let me tell you why I love Regina among all the characters in Once Upon a Time — even if she was/is the Evil Queen, she continues to do her best to stay good for her son, which what each of us are trying to do; even if sometimes we want to incinerate the people who annoy us. Despite her very dark past, and even if it took almost three decades for her to redeem herself, she tries to choose the good things over evil (now). She’s the perfect example that evil isn’t born, it’s made.

KTHXBYE.

j

One thought on “Not Another Fairytale

  1. Pingback: They’re Amazing, Too… I think? | When My Brain Farts

Thoughts?

