The (Mini) Book-Writing Project

26th September, 2014. 11:47am

Blogging 101, Day Ten: Dress Up Your Sidebar

Today’s assignment: add and/or customize two widgets, one text-based and one image-based.

I’m not going to be making any more changes with my blog design or sidebar or whatever so I’m skipping today’s assignment. For one, I already have everything I want to put on my blog’s sidebar and two, I really don’t want to add any more at the moment. However, it did say to write a short-form post on the topic of my choosing; a 400 or 200-word post or under, and I’m up for the challenge.

Choosing a particular topic is harder than I thought, and I’m pretty sure I’m already boring you out with my constant tales about my experiences, so what can I share with you without turning this post into a snoozefest? Well, what about a little storytelling, my dears, and this time, I really hope you can participate and share your thoughts. I call this, The (Mini) Book-Writing Project. I’ve been thinking about it for some time now and I really don’t know if this is going to work but might as well try.

Oh, and uh, 200-400 word starts right here…

The rule: I’ll start with a paragraph, then YOU will have to supply what happens next by filling in the blanks until we’ve come up with a story of our own. Whether it be in a TV/Movie script form or a book page form, it’s up to us. Ready? Here we go:

suicide

Photo c/o: redcafe.net

“Untitled”
(Present)

I look around the four walls of my bedroom as I’m about to step off the chair I was standing on. This is it, I thought. I don’t really want to do this, but they leave me no choice. Tears fall down my cheeks and slowly, with eyes closed, I carefully stepped off the chair. It didn’t take long ’till I drop my last breath, but before the end, I tried looking around my room again and fixed my eyes on the picture frame hanging on the wall. One more deep breath I struggled and then… and then my vision goes white. I closed my eyes and finally, I’m at peace.

Or so I thought.


Here’s a few pointers to help you come up with the next part:
1. It has to start with the past – let’s take it back ten years ago when she was 18 (I chose 18 to make her not too young but not too old) – What is she doing?
2. She’s a well-loved girl, pretty but awkward, talented but shy. Introduce at least a friend, a lover or a family member.
3.Why is she not at peace after taking her own life?
4. All scenes must take place only inside her room.

Goodluck.

KTHXBYE.

j

One thought on “The (Mini) Book-Writing Project

  1. Pingback: They’re Amazing, Too… I think? | When My Brain Farts

Thoughts?

