Great Book, Horrible Trailer

26th September, 2014: 3:42pm

We’ve all seen how some filmmakers murder our favorite books, or turn such a horrid novel into an award-winning movie. But how many times have we come across a book trailer that does no justice to the wonderful masterpiece? Unfortunately, many times.

First example: Eleanor and Park

I just started reading the book in honor of the Banned Books Week, but the book trailer is just horrendous! Like, seriously, why the hell did Rainbow Rowell allowed that to happen?! It’s just really disappointing, it makes me not want to read the book, which is sad because I read a lot of great reviews despite it being banned.

Ah, here’s one more:

52 Reasons to Hate My Father by Jessica Brody

I love the book, and I’m a big Jessica Brody fan, but this trailer just sucks big time. Mostly because of the actors, because I envisioned someone prettier at least, but come on, just because it’s a book doesn’t mean the trailer should be that bad.

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

This actually makes me cry because If I Stay is one of my favorite YA books ever. I just find it too simple. The only thing that I really liked about it is the last part, where Adam whispered “stay”, other than that, some fan made trailers are actually better than the original.

Okay, so not all book trailers are bad. Some are actually pretty good. Here are some of my absolute favorites:

Brain on Fire by Susannah Cahalan

I love this trailer because it’s not your typical book trailer. It was actually an autobiography, and I love how Cahalan gives a peek of what to expect in the book.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

The locations sold me out, really. And the background music.

I’m pretty sure there are a lot more to share, but these are just some of the many great (and horrible) book trailers. What about you? What’s your favorite? Which one do you think is the worse?

KTHXBYE.

 

 

j

Thoughts?

