Me, Me, Me, Me, Me

22nd September, 2014. 11:34pm

Blogging 101, Day Six: Make Your About Page Irresistible

Today’s Assignment: create and publish your About page, and adapt it for a widget on your home page.

I think writing about the birth of When My Brain Farts is getting a little too old now, isn’t it? Besides, I already have my own About Me page, as well as a widget to match, which is why I decided to give today’s assignment a little twist. How about I share a few reasons when (and why) I started blogging all those years ago?

Before I even found out about WordPress, I was (still is, actually) at Blogger. I even tried it on Multiply, Friendster, Myspace and I’m gonna stop now because it’s showing my age. The point is I’ve been in many other blog platforms before finally settling in Blogger and WordPress, and I’m happy I finally did.

My first post on Blogger dated back in June 15, 2005. I know, I can’t believe I’ve been blogging for (more than) nine years now. I built My Colorful Monochromatic Life to record my experiences as a College Senior. I’m glad I did, because it’s one of the sacred places that I can look back and remember everything I have gone through during my final exciting but terrifying year in college.

In this particular blog, When My Brain Farts, however, my goal is to write bits and pieces of information stuck in my brain. Whether they make sense or not, I don’t care. If I can’t get them out of my brain it’s got to mean something, right?

I guess I could say this blog also serves as kind of my Dream Diary. I’ve tried putting up a separate blog on that (which still exists, btw) but I could never keep it up and running like my other blog. Dreams, for me (at least in my case), are very significant. It’s where I can escape and, at the same time, take a peek into the future and communicate with my departed loved ones, as well as people I have yet to meet.

As a writer, I can’t help but write random stories, poems, and anything that pops in my mind. This is where I draw them; draft them out; preserve for future use. I know I suck at writing poems but hey, at least I tried!

Since I’m a good student, I tweaked my widget a little bit and dwindle it down to a few sentences. What’d you think? Did I do the right thing or should I have followed the instructions instead?

I started a blog because I love to write. Since I was a little girl, I’ve always loved writing. Writing on a diary is splendid, but blogging provides convenience. Still, it didn’t stop me from doing both and I will keep doing it, for as long as I live.

KTHXBYE.

j

One thought on “Me, Me, Me, Me, Me

  1. Pingback: Ready? Set? Goal! | When My Brain Farts

Thoughts?

