Truly Minimal

19th September 2014. 10:31am

Blogging 101, Day Five: Love Your Theme

Today’s assignment: try out at least three other themes — even if you’re happy with the one you first chose. Try one you’re drawn to, and one you would never use.

 

When I first saw what day five’s assignment is, I initially thought, “Really?!” I’m already contented with my current theme and have no plans of changing it anytime soon so today’s task actually makes me cringe.

I’m currently using the Truly Minimal theme, and I like my blog that way. It maybe (too) clean and simple, but it perfectly sums up my need. I’ve been customizing endless websites and profiles since I learned about HTML. I’m no genius, but I know my way around themes, especially WordPress themes. I’ve also tried a variety of themes — minimalist, colorful, magazine, name it! It’s also why I decided to keep When My Brain Farts simple. I’m just tired of those flimsy themes.

According to today’s instructions, there are three rules of thumb to consider when picking a theme — Something that speaks (to you); Considering (blog) content; Thinking about priorities. I think, no. I know that I’ve already achieved this with my current theme, but since this is an assignment and I’m no chickenshit, I will try and check out three other themes even if it means ruining my blog’s look.

Before trying anything new, I’d like to share how my current blog looks like:

WMBF

I did not save any of the themes I tried because I really don’t want to ruin my blog design so I’ll just share them using screen caps.

First Theme: Goran

Goran - Home
I guess it looks okay, but still not enough to make me change my mind.

Second Theme: Balloons

Balloons - Home

Oh, God, this is HORRIBLE! Why can’t those balloons disappear when I changed the header?! Ugh. NEXT!!!

Third Theme: Ever After

Ever After - HomeEver After - Home2This one’s not that bad, but I hate the fact that I can’t change the font colors (no, I won’t upgrade for just that). Plus, the font sizes are too fucking big and I don’t like that there are no sidebars. I know I can change it later, but still… NEXT!

Fourth Theme: Fictive
Fictive - Home

Fictive - Home2 This is how it looks like at the bottom… TEN scrolls down later!

This one’s not that bad either but using this one means I have to take out some of the things I have on sidebar, and I don’t want to so… NO.

I tried many others after these four but decision is still unchanged. I love the way it looks right now so Truly Minimal stays. I guess when you’ve finally found the one you just know, right?

KTHXBYE.

j

3 thoughts on “Truly Minimal

  1. Personally, I think your blog would look pretty badass in the Goran theme, too. I like both Truly Minimal and Goran for your page, but in the end it’s up to you, because like the assignment said, YOU are the one that has to look at it the most.

    Just my two cents.

    Like

Thoughts?

